Lesson 3   Deleting Bookmarks



Deleting A Single Bookmark

To delete a bookmark from your browser's Bookmark file, do the following:

  1. Open the Bookmark Window
  2. Select (highlight) the bookmark that you want to delete
3.  To delete the bookmark, either...
  • Select Edit -> Delete
  • Or use the right click feature on a PC (hold mouse down on a Mac) to get a pop-up menu and choose Delete

  • Or simply hit your Delete key

    Poof! It is history!


Deleting Multiple Bookmarks

If you want to delete more than one bookmark at a time, do one of the following:

Deleting Multiple Bookmarks in a Row

  1. Select (highlight) the first bookmark that you want to delete.
  2. In Windows, hold down the shift key and without releasing it, click on the last bookmark that you want to delete. This should highlight the entire row of bookmarks. (I am not aware of this feature on a Mac. I believe that you have to click on each one separately.)

3.  Delete all the highlighted bookmarks using one of the following techniques:
  • Select Edit -> Delete
  • Use the right click feature on a PC (hold mouse down on a Mac) to get a pop-up menu and choose Delete
  • Simply hit your Delete key

    Poof! All gone!

Deleting Multiple Bookmarks that are NOT in a Row

  1. Select (highlight) the first bookmark that you want to delete.
  2. In Windows, hold down the control key (on a Mac hold down the command and shift key) and without releasing it, click on each of the other bookmarks that you want to delete. (This should highlight each of the bookmarks separately.)

3.  Delete using one of the following techniques:
  • Select Edit -> Delete
  • Use the right click feature on a PC (hold mouse down on a Mac) to get a pop-up menu and choose Delete
  • Simply hit your Delete key

    Poof! Gone with the wind (or...the stroke of a key)!

Deleting an Entire Folder of Bookmarks

(By the way...you will learn about filing bookmarks in folders in Lesson 5.)

  1. Select (highlight) the bookmark folder that you want to delete.
  2. Delete using one of the following techniques:
    • Select Edit -> Delete
    • Use the right click feature on a PC (hold mouse down on a Mac) to get a pop-up menu and choose Delete
    • Simply hit your Delete key
  3. Poof! All gone. (Make sure you really want to do this before hitting that delete key!)


Once you delete a bookmark, it is gone (unless you add it again)! You can use the Edit -> Undo function if you catch your mistake right away. Be careful when deleting.


Practice Assignment AdvNS 3 - Deleting BM
       Practice each of the above techniques for deleting bookmarks, however, in order to avoid having to add the bookmarks again, use the Edit -> Undo feature after each technique you practice. If you do not currently have a folder of bookmarks that you want to delete, you can practice deleting a folder later.

       If you do not use the Edit -> Undo feature, you may find that you need to add more bookmarks to complete this or subsequent assignments. IMPORTANT!!! Practice deleting just the bookmarks you added earlier. Do not delete any that were in the Bookmark file prior to you doing this lesson.

Next: Lesson 4 - Editing Bookmarks
Previous: Lesson 2 - The Bookmark Window
SCILnet Home
Module Directory
Advanced NS Homepage
SCILnet Trainers